7.30 p.m., Noblessner foundry

ELLER 125: Heino Eller's three symphonies

Estonian State Symphony Orchestra

conductor Tõnu Kaljuste

Heino Eller's symphony music occupies a special place among his mostly instrumental works. The symphonic poem 'Dawn' and music piece 'Native folk tune' have become symbols of Estonian national idea. Among the works, slightly overshadowed by other more often performed short symphonic creations, is one of Heino Eller's central pieces created at the end of the second work period – the epical-lyrical 1st symphony subtitled 'In modo mixolydio' (1936). In addition to that, the 2nd symphony, unfinished due to circumstances and whose single completed 1st part (1948) was never performed during the composer's life. The works also include the main piece of the later period, the dramatic monumental 3rd symphony (1961). Tõnu Kaljuste will evoke the sound of the master creations in one concert.

The performance is recordered by ETV.

Created in 1926 Estonian State Symphony Orchestra (ERSO) has grown from a small radio music band into an Estonian representative orchestra. ERSO through the decades belonged to the top orchestras of the Soviet Union and has during the last decade expanded its international scope with award-winning recordings and successful overseas performances.

One of the most significant among the latter was the American tour in 2009 (conductors Nikolai Aleksejev and Eri Klas). The Orchestra earlier visited many European countries, Kuwait, Canada and the former Soviet Union. It participated in Estonian and international music festivals, such as The Baltic Sea Festival, Yehudi Menuhin Festival Gstaad Musiksommer in Switzerland, Europamusicale in München and others. The high quality of ERSO's recordings has been recognized in prestigeous classical music magazines and acknowledged by significant awards crowned by the 2004 Grammy. The orchestra's recording of Frank Martin's oratory 'Golgotha' was also nominated for Grammy in 2010. The Orchestra's chief conductors were Olav Roots, Roman Matsov, Neeme Järvi, Peeter Lilje, Leo Krämer, Arvo Volmer and Nikolai Aleksejev. Its present music director is Neeme Järvi, artistic advisor's duties are performed by Paavo Järvi and the first guest conductor is Olari Elts.